Fontaines D.C. Announce Sophomore Album 'A Hero's Death'

Watch their new video for the record's title track
Fontaines D.C. Announce Sophomore Album 'A Hero's Death'
Dublin post-punk outfit Fontaines D.C. have announced plans for their sophomore album, A Hero's Death. The record arrives July 31 via Partisan.

Today, the band have shared the album's title track, alongside a video starring Game of Throne's Aidan Gillen.

According to lead singer Grian Chatten, the track was written "during a time where I felt consumed by the need to write something else to alleviate the fear that I would never be able to follow up Dogrel. But more broadly it's about the battle between happiness and depression, and the trust issues that can form tied to both of those feelings."

He elaborated further in the following statement:

The song is a list of rules for the self, they're principles for self-prescribed happiness that can often hang by a thread. It's ostensibly a positive message, but with repetition comes different meanings, that's what happens to mantras when you test them over and over. There's this balance between sincerity and insincerity as the song goes on and you see that in the music video as well. That's why there's a lot of shifting from major key to minor key. The idea was influenced by a lot of the advertising I was seeing — the repetitive nature of these uplifting messages that take on a surreal and scary feel the more you see them

Fontaines D.C.'s latest album was their 2019 debut, Dogrel.

Watch the video for "A Hero's Death" below, where you'll also find the album's tracklisting.

A Hero's Death:

1. I Don't Belong
2. Love Is The Main Thing
3. Televised Mind
4. A Lucid Dream
5. You Said
6. Oh Such A Spring
7. A Hero's Death
8. Living In America
9. I Was Not Born
10. Sunny
11. No

Pre-order A Hero's Death.