The Wilderness of Manitoba Return with New Album 'Farewell to Cathedral'

Watch a video for first single "The Alchemist"
The Wilderness of Manitoba Return with New Album 'Farewell to Cathedral'
The Wilderness of Manitoba have detailed their first new album since 2017. The Toronto outfit will share Farewell to Cathedral on October 29 through Popguru Sound & Vision.

Farewell to Cathedral, which follows 2017's Across the Dark, was recorded over two days at Toronto's Revolution Recording. The time frame was something of a change to founding member/vocalist Will Whitwham, who on past outings felt as if sonic details and overdubs were laboured over. In comparison, the 10 songs included here show songs "captured at their most live and purest stage."

On Farewell to Cathedral, Whitwham is joined by Victoria Carr on vocals and acoustic guitar, Tavo Diez de Bonilla (Jenn Grant) on bass and vocals, and Adam Balsam (The Most Serene Republic) on drums, vocals, guitar and keyboards.

"I've always been a believer in fresh collaborations because everyone you meet influences your creative process in some way. It's up to you to decide whether they fuel it or stagnate it. In this particular case, the four of us together was the best fit for the current batch of songs," Whitwham shared of the current lineup.

"The Alchemist" is the first song to arrive from the album, and arrives alongside a video shot and edited by Whitwham you can take in below.

Whitwham shares that the video "was filmed in an attempt to depict all four seasons. The video is a snapshot of how I was dealing with and living throughout isolation. Capturing and spending time in nature can be healing in both the best and worst of times. It is also the visual vehicle for illustrating the song's journey in its 'passing of time' over a year."

Farewell to Cathedral:

1. Oblivion
2. The Well Has Run Dry
3. Sometimes
4. The Alchemist
5. Send Me To The Fire
6. The Ghost Of Abilene
7. Always (Violet Hour)
8. In An Honest Way
9. Lost In Her Ocean
10. Furious Seasons